Lowell, MA – Lowell General Hospital appointed new members to its governing board at the hospital’s annual meeting on May 17, 2011. Chairperson Margaret Palm welcomed new trustees Richard Bolton, Jr. and Martin Meehan, who had served previously as corporators prior to their election.

New hospital corporators were also elected at the meeting: Arthur Anton, Jr., Mark Cochran, Mark Dionne, Carol Duncan, Alan Fletcher, James Geraghty, Nasim Ghaffar, MD, Robert Gregoire, Paul Hardy, Jim O’Donnell, and Donna Plummer.

As an independent, not-for-profit community-owned hospital, Lowell General Hospital draws from the guidance and leadership of its corporators and Board of Trustees to help direct the hospital’s role and decisions within the community. Members of the hospital’s governance assist the not-for-profit by providing insight as active members in the community who also consider the benefits and challenges facing the organization when decisions call for input from the governing board.

“At Lowell General Hospital, we are committed to improving the overall health status of our community, and specifically, the health problems of medically underserved populations,” said Margaret A. Palm, Chair of the Board of Trustees of Lowell General Hospital. “Our dedication to improving the health of those we serve demands strong leadership from leaders in the community and that community benefits be at the very core of our mission as a not-for-profit healthcare organization.”